Sunday, May 1, 2016

2 Hands in 3 Hours

I've noticed a small change at the tables now that I've started a blog.  It is similar to the feeling you get when you enter a big Vegas buffet.  You see so many different and interesting dishes but know that there is no way you can have them all in one meal.  I get a similar feeling when interesting hands play out at the table.  I know I can't remember them all and share them here.  A small light bulb goes off in my head and I think, "That would be a good hand to share on the blog!"  Well, here are two hands that stood out during a short three hour session.

A new table was opening up and I thought I would be the first one to arrive.  Apparently, a speedy gentleman had beaten me to the table and was seated in seat 1.  I didn't mind, seat 1 and seat 10 are my least favorite.  It's hard to see the opposite side of the table and the dealer is always on the move.  The first hand of interest did not involve me but I found it very entertaining.

Hand 1: Seat 1 comes in for $2, SB puts in another $1, and BB makes it $12.  Seat 1 calls and so does SB.  Flop was 8,10♠,6.  SB checks, BB bets $20, seat 1 goes all-in for $38, and SB calls.  BB announces all-in for $200+.  The dealer immediately steps in and tells him that he can't reopen the betting.  The BB disappointingly calls $38 total.  Turn is Q♣ and the SB leads out for $40.  BB takes his time, flips over K,K♣ and folds!  I was stunned.  River was a blank.  Seat 1 shows 8♣,J and the SB scoops with 9,7.

This K,K fold got me thinking: is BB a very sharp player who knew he couldn't reraise and was looking to see how the SB reacted when he announced all-in?  What do you think, is this considered angle shooting? 

My last post was about a hand in which I was dealt pocket rockets.  It happened again. 

Hand 2: Seat 8 is UTG and $300+ behind (same guy that was BB in the hand above).  I'm in mid position, $195 behind, and still in seat 2.  UTG leads out for $15.  I look down at A,A♣ and just call.  It folds around.  Flop is 3,5♠,7.  UTG fires again, this time $35, and I call.  Turn is 3 and he fires his third bullet for $75.  I put the rest of my stack in.  He wasn't expecting that; with about $320 in the pot, he throws in $70 more.  River is 8♠.  I turn over my aces and and he kind of looks in disbelief.  Then, he says how I even had the A♣He mucks and I start stacking the red birds.

Few orbits later, I call it a night up over a buy-in. 

3 comments:

  1. Sir:

    Been enjoying the blog. Great format; well written; and interesting. Keep up the great work.

    P.S. How do you get the card symbols? Nice touch.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Just calling with Aces again, huh? Well, as you responded to me in the other post, yeah, no guarantee if you raise you get a call, but as you found out in that hand, is that so bad? In that case you would have been happy to get a fold preflop. That's results oriented thinking but generally I think raising with the best hand in poker is almost always the right play. I even raise with KK and you know how that usually works out for me.

    The first hand here is interesting. I don't think the guy who tried to shove is angle shooting. He's never getting the guy who flopped the nuts to fold. Of course, he doesn't know he had the nuts. he's actually shoving there because he wants the flush draw to fold. Also, he likely thought it was ok to shove there, or figured that the dealer might miss that, as it was close to being ok. I've seen plenty of dealers allow it when they shouldn't. And maybe the player plays in a house where they would allow it? It's a rule that does vary from room to room.

    I find it more interesting that the guy who flopped the straight didn't raise the flop with those two hearts out there....dangerous play himself. Maybe he sensed the shove coming and wanted to get it all in that way?

    His action on the turn is even more interesting. After seeing the guy wanting to shove he still leads out. Of course, he still has the straight. It's no longer the nuts but he's not worried about that. But he somehow knew the guy wasn't shoving this time?

    And as for the guy who folded Kings...well, when the other guy bets $40 after his failed shove attempt, he must have known he was beat. A good player, I think.

    BTW...I've added your blog my blog roll.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. The AA hand clearly worked out for you, but it doesn't seem optimal. With 5 players to go behind you, I'm sure you're not wanting to see the flop 6 handed. I'm glad the risk paid off, but I do think a small (even min) raise there gives folks behind less than 2-1 odds on a call and makes it more likely that any action behind you is a raise, not a call.

      I'm assuming he had to have AK clubs there? Oddly played by him, if not...

      s.i.

      Delete